newmini 1


Home | Curriculum and Pedagogy | Learning and Teaching

title learningandteaching

Nazareth Catholic Primary School is a school registered by the NSW Board of Studies and is subject to the curriculum requirements of the Board.

In NSW, the Board of Studies provides schools with syllabus documents and all primary schools are required to teach subjects from six Key Learning Areas
(KLAs).  These are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and its Environment
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education

As a Catholic School we also teach Religious Education which follows a set syllabus provided by the Catholic Education Office.

At Nazareth the teachers develop programs based on the Foundation
Statements and Syllabus Outcomes.  Foundation Statements are a description
of the learning the students will be engaged in at each stage of
primary school.

The stages of English K-6 are as follows:

Early Stage 1 Kindergarten
Stage 1 Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2 Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3 Year 5 and Year 6

Syllabus outcomes are specific statements of the knowledge, skills and understanding that a student is expected to achieve.  A student would be
expected to achieve the outcome by the end of a stage.