newmini 1


Home | Curriculum and Pedagogy | Key Learning Areas

title klas

nazsquare06The academic program at Nazareth is based upon the syllabuses of the New South Wales Board of Studies.  The Religious Education Program is based upon the curriculum of the Diocese of Wollongong as approved by Bishop Ingham.

Specific programs of learning are undertaken in the following Key Learning Areas:

  • Religious Education
  • English (Reading, Writing, Talking and Listening)
  • Mathematics (Number, Patterns and Algebra, Data, Measurement, Space and Geometry)
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and its Environment
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education
  • Creative Arts (Visual Arts, Music, Dance and Drama)

Each KLA Syllabus is structured around a set of learning outcomes.  Outcomes state the learning (knowledge, understanding, skills and values) that students should acquire.  Teachers' programs are outcomes-based, as is their assessment.